I Did It Again Guys

Mistakes were made, That’s what I thought when I realized what I have done

Thilina Dasantha
2 min readOct 25, 2021

We are writers, right? And we tend to keep drafts of writing we have abandoned halfway. You know it’s true.

But, how many of us go back to this stuff? Or try to rewrite or repurpose them for something else? Probably a handful, I guess.

Photo by Chris Ainsworth on Unsplash

But, what I have done is completely different. As much as I hate myself for doing it, I keep doing this over and over again. I almost missed some of my deadlines on projects I’m working on due to this. The simple mistake of assuming that I submitted the piece. Most of the time I read the draft and edit 2 or 3 days after I have written it. It gives me time to get my mind off of the article and look at it with fresh eyes.

I have done this several times, and It has impacted me a lot in the past, too. However, I was not expecting it to occur again, but unfortunately it did.

Thus, I created a simple plan to avoid it from happening in the future. When I’m reading and editing the draft, I have also scheduled a reminder in a day or two to remind me to post it. You may find it weird how I haven’t started doing this ages ago, I find it that way too.

--

--