I didn’t want to write, ever again.

This is simply about why I’ve been inactive in the past few months

Thilina Dasantha
2 min readApr 14, 2022
Photo by Sid Leigh on Unsplash

I’ve been quite silent for the past few months. Mostly because I’ve been having doubts about whether writing is worth it as a career or not.

I’m not a full-time writer. I don’t earn much I don’t earn anything from it. I’m writing as a hobby and a medium to express my feelings and thoughts. Once I started writing here, I thought that I could use my hobby to do something. Reach out to some new audience. And it did happen. I have 239 followers, pretty cool, right?

But, after a few months of writing the spark died. Not only here but also as a hobby too. Then I stopped writing for a while. I wanted to take that time to myself as a distraction from constant thinking and convert those thoughts to words.

After a few months of being away from frantically writing for a cause, I’ve returned to writing. Not exactly on medium but on my social media pages. I’ve started to write a few short stories which I haven’t tried before and it received well. I kept writing them and revived a blog that I left untouched. And now, I decided to return to the Medium.

This is quite short.

What I wanted to tell you is that burnout is not a good thing. I’ve talked and written about this earlier as well.

If you feel like you’re burned out, take a break. Please!

Take time to fix yourself a nice distraction.

It doesn’t have to be a fixed time. Take as much time as you want and when you feel like you’re good to go again, come back and share the experience.

After all, You’re only human.

--

--